Home

News

Music

Single available

Album available

EP available

Videos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Biography

- NEW ALBUM, out in February 2015 -

Three years ago, Lulu Gainsbourg launched his career with a wonderful gift for his father who passed away twenty years before. The musician imagined a stunning album of covers, on which he brought together Vanessa Paradis, Iggy Pop, Scarlett Johansson, Marianne Faithfull, Johnny Depp and Rufus Wainwright among others. Entitled From Gainsbourg to Lulu, this album was a prerequisite step before he could take off as a solo artist. “At first, it was important for me to pay tribute to my father’s work. I also wanted his songs to be known in other countries. But to remain the son who indefinitely revisits my dad’s repertoire was out of question. I did not want to go on tour with that record, I was already thinking about my own personal project.”

The most dedicated listeners will remember that on that first record the Lulu let them catch a glimpse of his own work through the original track Fresh News from the Stars. Now he is releasing twelve songs under the name of Lady Luck, his first album with original compositions inspired by events from his private life. “Lady Luck was born after a difficult break up. I sat down and started playing the piano to share my emotions.”  To do so, Lulu dedicated himself to specific rules, composing and arranged all the songs himself. He draws from his own experience for the lyrics, and, determined to sing in English, he decided to work with American writers. A logical choice for someone who spent several years abroad between London (where he currently lives), New York, Los Angeles and Boston where he attended the prestigious Berklee College of Music.

Lulu was invested in every step of the creative process for his album, so he called upon a few incredible musicians to join him in the studio including Paul Turner and Derrick Mckenzie, Jamiroquai’s bassist and drummer, as well as Drew McConnell from the Babyshambles. To produce the album, he renewed his collaboration with Jeremy Loucas, whose work with Terri Lyne Carrington and Esperanza Spalding earned him Grammy awards over the past few years.
Added to this team are some prestigious guests: Matthieu Chedid and his brother contributed to the single Lady Luck. Anne Hathaway and the artist Ara Starck (daughter of  designer Philippe Starck) joined Lulu on the album’s two duets: The Cure for Anne, and It’s Always Something for Ara. “Anne expressed her fondness for my first album in an interview. I contacted her to thank her, later on we had lunch together and a few months down the road we had the duet ready. She is truly a beautiful person and a very talented vocalist.  And as for Ara, she’s always been like a older sister to me.”

Armed with these collaborators, the recording took place between New York and London. In the British capital’s Metropolis Studio, Lulu notably found himself playing on Freddie Mercury’s original piano.

Despite the numerous guests on Lady Luck, Lulu gives us a very intimate and sincere record. With modesty, the young man opens a dialogue with his parents: he addresses his mother in the  beautiful freudian ballad Moushka, and speaks to his father on Destiny, a title with a disarming text, for which he composed very Gainsbourgesque arrangements. Musically speaking, the album Lady Luck continues to reflect the eclecticism and the open-mindedness of its author, oscillating between sexy funk (Lady Luck), pop (Love on the Rocks), atmospheric ballads (Moushka) and refined instrumentals (in particular the delicate Lily Rose, composed for Vanessa Paradis and Johnny Depp’s daughter).

“I like the diversity, I did not want to give a single tone to this album. I’m inspired by Coldplay as well as Miles Davis, The Rolling Stones as much as Michael Jackson.”

Brought out by a sharp sense of melody, the compositions are adorned with delicate and soft arrangements, often giving them a cinematographic charm. As the first real chapter of Lulu’s solo musical history, this Lady Luck is a promise for a bright future. “It was hard to make a name for myself. I was criticized, and maybe there was some jealousy, too. On my side, I do not judge the others. All I know is that I have been behind a piano since I was four. I worked hard, I never gave up. Music is my whole life. I hope this record will help me become Lulu.” Something to look forward to.

Newsletter




Contact

Agent – Marine Artozoul, IMG Models, Marine.Artozoul@img.com
Booking – Christophe Quemin, Get Your Act Together, christophe@getyouractstogether.net
Manager – Solonje Burnett-Loucas, Den Entertainment, solie@denentertainment.com
Label – Leïla Montanier, Universal Music France, leila.montanier@umusic.com
General Inquiriescontact@lulugainsbourg.com

Accueil

News

Musique

Album disponible

Album disponible

EP disponible

Vidéos

Message from server: Gone. Check in YouTube if the id LulugainsbourgVEVO belongs to a user. To locate the id of your user check the FAQ of the plugin.

 

 

 

Biographie

- NOUVEL ALBUM, sortie le 2 février 2015 -

Il y a trois ans, Lulu Gainsbourg entamait sa carrière discographique avec un splendide cadeau : pour son père, disparu vingt ans plus tôt, le musicien avait imaginé un éblouissant disque de reprises, pour lesquelles il avait réuni aussi bien Vanessa Paradis qu’Iggy Pop, Scarlett Johanson, Marianne Faithfull, Johnny Depp ou Rufus Wainwright… Nommé From Gainsbourg to Lulu, ce disque était pour Lulu une étape indispensable, un passage obligé, avant l’envol en solitaire. « C’était important pour moi, dans un premier temps, de rendre hommage au travail de mon père. Je voulais aussi faire connaître ses chansons dans d’autres pays. Mais il était hors de question que je reste le fils qui revisite le répertoire de son papa à l’infini. Je ne voulais pas partir en tournée avec ce disque, je pensais déjà à mon projet personnel. »

Les plus attentifs se souviennent d’ailleurs que le musicien avait, sur ce premier disque, laissé entrevoir un morceau original : Fresh News from the Stars, niché au milieu des reprises. Trois ans plus tard, il en dévoile aujourd’hui douze, réunis sous le nom de Lady Luck, un premier album de compositions originales que lui ont inspirées des événements de sa vie privée. « Lady Luck est venu d’une rupture difficile. Je me suis mis au piano afin de faire ressentir mes émotions. » Pour ce faire, Lulu se donne alors un cahier des charges en forme de défi: il composera et arrangera toutes les chansons lui-même. Pour les textes, il s’inspire de son vécu et, résolu à ne chanter que dans la langue de Lou Reed ou Dylan, décide de collaborer avec des paroliers américains. Un choix logique pour celui qui a passé de nombreuses années à l’étranger : entre Londres, où il réside aujourd’hui, New York et Boston, où il fréquenta les bancs du prestigieux Berklee College of Music.
Si Lulu tient à s’impliquer dans toutes les étapes créatives de son album, cela ne l’empêche pas de se faire épauler par du beau monde : Paul Turner et Derrick Mckenzie, bassiste et batteur de Jamiroquai mais aussi Drew McConnell de Babyshambles l’ont rejoint en studio. A la production, il a retrouvé Jeremy Loucas, collaborateur de Terri Lyne Carrington ou Esperanza Spalding qui collectionne les Grammy Awards ces dernières années.
A cette équipe de titulaires, il faut ajouter, sur Lady Luck, quelques beaux convives: Matthieu Chedid et son frère sont venus participer au single Lady Luck, tandis que l’actrice Anne Hathaway et l’artiste Ara Starck, fille du célèbre designer, se sont invitées sur deux titres du plus bel effet (The Cure pour la première, It’s Always Something pour la seconde). « Anne Hathaway avait évoqué son affection pour mon premier disque dans un interview. Je l’ai donc contacté pour la remercier, peu après on a déjeuné ensemble et quelques mois plus tard on avait un duo en boîte. Une très belle personne avec une voix très talentueuse. Quant à Ara, elle est comme ma grande sœur. » Riche de toutes ces participations, l’enregistrement s’est déroulé entre New-York et Londres- dans le studio Metropolis de la capitale anglaise, Lulu s’est notamment retrouvé à jouer sur le piano original de Freddie Mercury.
Bien que les participants soient nombreux sur Lady Luck, Lulu signe un disque très intime et sincère. Avec pudeur, le jeune homme y interprète deux dialogues imaginaires avec ses parents : il s’adresse à sa mère sur la jolie ballade floydienne Moushka, et discute avec son père sur Destiny, titre au texte désarmant pour lequel il a agencé, en clin d’œil, des arrangements très gainsbouriens. Musicalement, Lady Luck continue d’illustrer l’éclectisme et la largesse d’esprit de son auteur, oscillant entre funk sexy (Lady Luck), pop (Love on the Rocks), ballades atmosphériques (Moushka) et instrumentaux raffinés (il signe notamment un délicat Lily Rose pour la fille de Vanessa Paradis et Johnny Depp).

« J’aime les mélanges, je ne voulais pas donner une seule couleur à ce disque. J’aime aussi bien Coldplay que Miles Davis, The Rolling Stones que Michael Jackson. » Portés par un sens mélodique affuté, les morceaux s’ornent d’arrangements soyeux et délicats, qui leur confèrent souvent un charme cinématographique. Premier véritable chapitre solo de l’histoire sonore de Lulu, ce Lady Luck promet de formidables lendemains qui chantent. « Ca a été dur pour moi de me faire un prénom. On m’a critiqué, on m’a peut-être jalousé aussi. De mon côté, je ne juge pas les autres. Ce que je sais, c’est que depuis que j’ai quatre ans, je suis derrière un piano. J’ai travaillé très dur, je n’ai jamais abandonné. La musique est toute ma vie. J’espère que ce disque va m’aider à devenir Lulu. » Beau programme.

Newsletter




Contact

Agent – Marine Artozoul, IMG Models, Marine.Artozoul@img.com
Booking – Christophe Quemin, Get Your Act Together, christophe@getyouractstogether.net
Manager – Solonje Burnett-Loucas, Den Entertainment, solie@denentertainment.com
Label – Leïla Montanier, Universal Music France, leila.montanier@umusic.com
General Inquiriescontact@lulugainsbourg.com